UMP Summernationals Make annual stop at Paducah International Raceway

Second Annual Chris Smith Memorial Takes to the High Banks on Friday, June 29th

Paducah, KY- June 20, 2012– Twenty-nine races, across eight states in 32 days… The ultimate race fan’s dream! The UMP Summer Nationals Hell Tour returns to Paducah International Raceway on Friday, June 29th in conjunction with the Chris Smith Memorial, honoring former car owner of the #K5 of Gary Keeling, Chris Smith. Local UMP favorites will battle regional drivers when they take it to the dirt to see who will go home with the $12,000 grand prize. See favorites including Tim Brown, Terry English, Tanner English, Jason McBride, and defending three-time Track Champion Kevin Cole go nose to tail with Brandon Sheppard, Jason Feger, Dennis Erb, Jr., Ryan Unzicker, and 2011 UMP Summer National Champion Shannon Babb.

Adding to the event, the stakes have been upped for both the UMP Modifieds and UMP Street Stocks. Modified drivers like Ron Wall, Jeff Elliott, Trent Young, 2009 Track Champion Todd Miller, and current points leader JR Mason will wage war to see who takes home the $1,000 top prize. The Street Stocks hit the track running with a $500 to win Street Stock Special sponsored by Cunningham Machine. Top contenders will include Steve “Snake” Hobbs, Tya Cunningham, Mike Hodges, Keaton Downing, and current points leader Mike Watson.

Tickets are $25 for Adults. Children 12 and under are $5. Pit Admission is $35. Pit Gates open at 4:00 PM. Grandstands open at 5:00 PM. Hot Laps are at 6:30 PM with Late Model Qualifying at 7:00 PM. Racing starts at 7:30 PM.

The UMP Summer National Tour kicked off at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, Indiana on Wednesday, June 13th and concludes at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio on Saturday, July 14th, making stops in Illinois, Wisconsin, Michigan, Tennessee, Kentucky, and Missouri along the way. “The Hell Tour” received its nickname because of the grueling schedule it presents to even the most seasoned veterans.

2012 marks Paducah International Raceway’s seventh year with the current NASCAR driver owners. Join PIR every week for Friday Night Racing at its best.

Permanent link to this article: